Imagine all the people…

“When I was five years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

~John Lennon

4 Responses to “Imagine all the people…”

  1. Charlie Says:

    This quote always pisses me off. “Here’s how I lectured my elders on the meaning of life when I was five.”

  2. Charlie Says:

    Perhaps if the story had been crafted so it’s the mom telling off the teacher…

  3. tb Says:

    Ha, fair enough. Would certainly be more believable that way. I never focused on the quote’s credibility, but just appreciated its pop-philosophy wisdom, similar to the idea of being someone rather than being something, or Bhutan’s measuring of Gross National Happiness.

  4. Charlie Says:

    Yeah, hard not to like the sentiment underneath it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

