Google maps is depressing

Near my childhood home there were thick woods, impenetrable in summer and close enough even in winter to block out whatever might lay beyond them.  And there was the rub – what lay beyond them.  I had no idea.  For all I knew, those woods stretched for hundreds of miles.  You might venture in and never come out, or you might stumble right into another world.  It was a great mystery and, as such, would always inspire awe and joy in me.  Especially in summer, and especially at night, when forests get their magic on.

Until Google maps.  Now I see from the satellite image that, after just a few hundred feet, those woods stop at an office building.  And a parking lot.

I suppose it’s nice to know there’s a shortcut to the drugstore.  Too bad they had to kill my magic forest to find out.

Leave a Reply

