Don’t do me any favors

As you may recall, I have a bit of an issue with the phrase “do me a solid” when used to mean “do me a favor” rather than “Sweetie, please take a dump now, for Mommy.”  (Oddly, it’s also the most popular post on this blog, hands down.)

This morning, it got worse.  Bill Simmons, a funny ESPN sportswriter and Boston fan, writes that he wants to “throw a solid to Andrew in Seattle.”  Is it me, or does this conjure up the image of those monkeys that toss their feces at each other?

(If they can can stand the smell of it.)

One Response to “Don’t do me any favors”

  1. Mahir Says:

    As a matter of fact, I did 3 very nice solids today.

Leave a Reply

