Who we root for

LeBron James is an awesome player and appears to be a solid, good human being. I have no idea why I can’t seem to root for him.  Same thing with Tiger Woods.  An incredible talent and apparently okay guy (maybe a little arrogant?  who knows.)  It’s not simply an underdog thing (though I do root against Kobe Bryant with some passion – just don’t like him.)  I wanted Michael Jordan to win everything, including the first Survivor series though I’m fairly sure he wasn’t even on the island.

Maybe it’s because LeBron knocked the Celtics out of first place, but I have no idea why I root for the Celtics.  KG and crew are also great players and seem like good human beings, but that’s clearly not enough.

Fanhood seems utterly irrational, and I guess that’s okay (at least in sports and entertainment – not so sure about it when choosing our real-world leaders).  More of a left-brain thing, which many of us probably keep on too short a leash (yours truly as a prime culprit.)

One Response to “Who we root for”

  1. W.C. Varones Says:

    When you’ve got no team, you’ve got nothing to lose.

Leave a Reply

