“Done With Apple-Picking Now”

This quote is prominently and professionally carved into the base of a picnic table in China Camp State Park north of San Francisco.

A bit unusual.  The first thing that came to mind was that it was some kind of negative critique of Apple Computers. I was deeply saddened when I realized, instead, that it is a direct quote from one of my favorite poems from my favorite poet, Robert Frost.  How did I not recognize it right away?

Maybe I’ve been here too long.

“One can see what will trouble
This sleep of mine, whatever sleep it is.
Were he not gone,
The woodchuck could say whether it’s like his
Long sleep, as I describe its coming on,
Or just some human sleep.”

Leave a Reply

