Shipwaving

I don’t know who started it, but I love the fact that whenever people on a boat or ship pass you (especially when you yourself are on a separate boat or ship), you wave to each other. You sometimes see this phenomenon with people on those open-top tour buses as well. There you are standing on a city corner, stewing about something and waiting for the light to change, when a bright red, double-decker bus with no roof (or sometimes shaped like a duck) glides by, full of smiling faces and hands waving your way. Only the Scrooges resist waving back.

What’s odd is that this phenomenon simply doesn’t translate to other public arenas, even if it’s the exact same people involved. Sitting on a crowded city bus, my back to the window, facing the people sitting just a few feet away, I imagine that if I started smiling and waving, at least one of them would come over, punch me directly in the face, and ask me (rhetorically) what the hell was wrong with me.

People are strange when you’re a stranger, unless you’re on a boat, or a tour bus shaped like a duck.

4 Responses to “Shipwaving”

  1. Charlie Says:

    TB, thanks for the kind words…hopefully will find a new creative outlet soon. As for quitting poker–nope, a man’s gotta eat.

  2. W.C. Varones Says:

    And thanks for the unkind words!

  3. tb Says:

    Sorry W.C.! Just trying to selfishly encourage your genius in my favorite directions.

  4. W.C. Varones Says:

    Not sure what qualifies as politics and economics — is mocking overpriced houses economics? Is “George Bush Don’t Like Black People” politics?

    Been doing this stuff for so long that I don’t remember what I did in the good ol’ days.

    What do you like? I’ll try to add more.

Leave a Reply

