Microdonations

I continue to amaze myself by how cavalierly I’ll buy an iPhone app for $0.99.  I’m typically one of those cautious, research-intensive buyers who must touch and feel something before he buys it.  Typically the most you get to see of an app is a few screen shots, yet I’ll go ahead and hit the “Buy” button and let them charge my credit card.

It struck me that this is what altruistic non-profits should do – create an app that allows people to hit a button and donate $0.99 whenever they’re in a giving mood.  And don’t collect the giver’s email and mailing address and bombard him or her with solicitations afterward.  Kind of like the little glass box on the counter at McDonald’s where you can give spare change to charity.

Leave a Reply

