Shawshank: Hope versus Acceptance

One of the many, many things I like about the Shawshank Redemption is the theme of hope versus acceptance as a means of approaching life; in particular, of getting through the dark, hard days before you.  Red argues that the men serving life sentences in the prison must accept their lot or lose themselves; while Andy argues that we can never give up hope (in this case, hope of getting out.)

The beauty of the argument and the theme is that neither side is obviously wrong, and either might be seen as a better option depending on the circumstances and the person involved.

Makes me think of the Serenity Prayer:
“God, grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.”

Of course, in the case of The Shawshank Redemption, I (sentimentalist that I am) root for Andy, and hope.

Leave a Reply

