Who’s punking whom?

Was at home yesterday, eating from a bag of Baked Lays potato chips and waiting for my friend Josh to pick me up for the movies.  I noticed that the “Baked” on the chips bag was really prominent, the biggest text on the bag, and I of course thought of its other meaning.  So I cut the word out of the bag, then curled up a piece of Scotch tape into a circle and stuck in on the back.  I shoved my homemade sign into my pocket as Josh pulled up outside.

We parked on the street, and I pretended to get a phone call so that Josh would go on ahead to get tickets.  He threw me the keys and started toward the theater.  Once his back was turned, I spoke a bit longer with my fake friend on my fake phone call before realizing Josh couldn’t hear or see me anymore.  I pulled out my sign and taped it to the inside of the driver side window, with the “Baked” facing out.  Then I locked up and left.

As we got back to the car after the movie, I anxiously awaited Josh’s reaction, and carefully watched his face as he unlocked the car and paused by his door.

And nothing.

He was wearing sunglasses, so I couldn’t see his eyes, but otherwise his reaction was simply to open the door and casually remove the sign from inside the window.

“Did you do this?” he asked, in a distant way.

“Do what?” I said. “What is that?”  I was playing it pretty well, I thought, and quite proud of myself.

“It’s a sign,” he said.  His voice was preternaturally calm.

“What’s it say?” I asked.

He folded it up and put it in his pocket.  “It says ‘Baked’.”

In retrospect, I can now recall that his motions and his voice had actually slowed down to a slightly unnatural speed, but this was the only evidence of any confusion or shock he might have felt at having come back to his LOCKED car and finding a cut-out sign that said BAKED taped to the INSIDE of his car window.  But at the time I was simply pissed that I didn’t get more of a reaction.  So I caved, punched him, and said of course it was me you idiot how could somebody have put that inside your window?

He tried to say that he thought maybe I hadn’t locked the car and that somebody just opened the door and taped it there.  That’s when we finally started laughing.  A lot.  At how ridiculous that sounded – for some stoned peacenik to cut out part of a potato chip bag and tape the word “Baked!” to the inside of someone’s car – even in San Francisco.

I felt redeemed by my new belief that he had been fooled so badly that he was in a state of confusion bordering on mild shock.  But more importantly, I felt redeemed by the 5 full minutes of mutual belly laughter the whole thing had engendered, though not in the way I had anticipated.  And we weren’t even

One Response to “Who’s punking whom?”

  1. SFA Says:

    Oh WOW man… I’ve got the munchies

Leave a Reply

