Found in Translation

Years ago I was traveling through New Zealand, staying at one point in a hostel in Paihia, which kept a public journal called “Hot Tips” where travelers could write down whatever came to mind.  Here’s my favorite:

“Now.  I started writting in English about my poor friends.  He is 25 years old.  But He doesn’t have any money now.  So, we can’t do anything in Paihia.  But I don’t hate him.  Because he is so poor.  Today.  Nothing.  Tomorrow Nothing.  2 days later I’ll go back to Auckland.  See you later in Auckland.  Good-bye from beginning of terrible dream in Paihia.”

Leave a Reply

