Say it anyway

I want you to know that you may have once said something very kind to me, or that you may yet someday say something like that, a word or thought that glows as it passes through the air to me, something simple like “Dad always said you were so talented,” or “Your smile makes my brain stop working,” and maybe I will have thanked you, or not, and maybe I will have smiled or otherwise responded in an appropriate way to let you know that I appreciate not just that you felt that way, or that he felt that way, but that you cared enough to share it with me, were brave enough to share it with me, or maybe I will not have responded much at all, but I want you to know that, later, months or years later perhaps, I will stop suddenly and have to sit down in my living room, because the mysterious circuitry of my mind will have recalled to me those words you shared and the feelings behind them, and I will hear them as clearly as if you were sitting here with me, and I will cry, I will have to wipe the tears from my eyes in order to make room for more, because the joy in my heart will not be able to burst out in any other way.

Leave a Reply

